About us


CNR was created by administrative decree on 14 November 1949; CNR have built, managed and controlled the Mandatory Road Tariff System (MRTS) applicable to long haul transport for hire or reward within the scope of the rail-road co-ordination policy. The liberalisation of the transport policy, and more particularly MRTS removal, led the Public Authorities in 1989, to transform CNR into a Professional Committee for Economic Development via the 13 March 1989 decree (amended several times) : consolidated version of the decree concerning CNR's creation and statute.


  • Participate in the economic monitoring and follow-up of the market of Common Carriers especially by means of cost analysis, and circulate the information it gathers as well as the economic analyses it carries out.
  • Carry out research work and socio-economical surveys related to the carriage of goods market, which are useful to all of the transport professionals.
  • Finalise and circulate management tools for the benefit of the hauliers.
  • Carry out any and all missions of general interest to the trade.

The Comité National Routier may be referred to by the Transport Minister about any request coming within the scope of the missions described above.

A technical organisation

CNR is a technical organisation whose prime mission lies in the observation of the working methods of road haulage of goods markets, whose field of action has steadily increased from the sole domestic carriage under French flag to all transport operations carried out within Europe. It is also a think tank where the professional managers' analyses originate, concerning the situation and future of the sector, with the assistance of qualified personalities and the work done by a team of permanent collaborators.

Within the scope of the general interest mission it is entrusted with by the State, it both informs and alerts the economical spheres and the transport ministry about the observed evolutions.

Its work is mainly dedicated to companies. Particular attention is paid to small and micro businesses, given that 81% of the 35,230 Common Carriers employ less than 10 members of staff.

CNR is the only organisation with an extensive competence in the observation of the evolution of operations conditions and cost components. From the collected data, it reorganises reference costings for haulage operations and issues indexes which can be used in free negotiations. In this capacity, CNR produces public statistics. This mission is carried out under the aegis of a scientific council that is independent from the trade, which today is chaired by a University professor and made up of several INSEE (National Institute for Statistics and Economic Studies) directors. The scientific council certifies methodologies and guarantees objective results.

At the heart of the legal diesel fuel indexation system (articles L3222 - 1 and 2 of the Transport Code), CNR is a major actor, both by circulating the reference indicators needed in the indexation mechanism, and also by initiating pedagogical actions to improve fair tariff adjustment practices.

It develops calculation and even management tools that aim to help the companies compute their Cost Prices in a more accurate manner. These tools are freely available on CNR's website. Their objectives are twofold: Information and pedagogy.

CNR carries out economical analyses, either on its own initiative or upon request of the Transport ministry. They deal with particular segments of activities, with the impact of the latest regulations (e.g. 44 tonnes, alterations in the "Fillon" employers contribution relief) or projected developments (e.g. HGV ecotax repercussions, CO2 information), especially those related to the sustainable development policy.

On the international field, monograph surveys are carried out concerning the nationality of Common Carriers in the main competitor countries in the EU.

One must stress that CNR working objectivity has been widely acknowledged by both carriers and shippers (industrial customers, mass retailers, etc.) Professional medias widely spread CNR's information.

Board of directors

The Comité National Routier is managed by a board of directors made up of twenty-one members appointed by decree of the minister of Transports.

It is made up of:

a) Fourteen members appointed on the proposal of the professional organisations representing both Common Carriers and freight forwarders.

  • Fédération Nationale des Transports Routiers (FNTR)
  • Organisation des Transporteurs Routiers Européens (OTRE) 
  • Fédération des entreprises de Transport et Logistique de France (TLF) 
  • Union Nationale des Organisations Syndicales des Transporteurs Automobiles (UNOSTRA)

b) Seven qualified persons appointed by the Transport Minister.

The Board of Directors internally elects one chairman and several vice presidents, whose appointments are subject to the minister of transports' assent.


The board of directors is made up as per the appointment decree of 10 November 2014 issued in Official Journal no 0274 dated 27 November 2014.



Roland BACOU








Jean-Christophe PIC


Catherine PONS














Jean-Pierre SANCIER


Jean-Jacques BECKER

Project manager at the General Council of the Environment and Sustainable Development


Honorary Professor at the Lumière-Lyon II University


Associate Professor at Lumière-Lyon-II University


Professor at the Lyon-institut University


President of the regional transport observatory of Brittany


Deputy Director of Mobility and Development at the Office of the Commissioner General for Sustainable Development


General engineer for bridges, water and forests

Scientific council

A scientific council has been created in conjunction with the board of directors.

It approves of the methodology put forward for economic observation. It is mandatorily consulted about the survey programmes presented by the board of directors. It gives its opinion about the subject and contents of the surveys. Its role is paramount in acknowledging the rigour, objectivity and independence of CNR's works.

The scientific council is made up of six members who are appointed as follows:

a) Four persons chosen by the minister of transports on the grounds of their skills in the transport field.

As per the appointment decree of 11 june 2015 :

  • Mr. Dominique AUVERLOT, Head of the sustainable development department, Strategic Analysis Center ;
  • Mr. Jean-Jacques BECKER, Project manager at the General Council of the Environment and Sustainable Development ;
  • Ms Elisabeth KREMP, Head of the department of sectoral syntheses - INSEE.

As per the appointment decree of 25 july 2018 :

  • Ms Sabine BESSIERE, Deputy Director of Transportation Statistics at the Office of the Commissioner General for Sustainable Development.

b) Two qualified persons appointed by the board of directors for a three-year mandate:

Mr. Maurice BERNADET, Honorary Professor at the Lumière-Lyon II University, Chairman of the Scientific Council ;

Mr. Yves CROZET, Professor at the Lyon-institut University.